10 Highest Wicket Takers in ODI Cricket

A One Day International (ODI) is a form of limited overs cricket in which each team faces a fixed number of overs that are fifty.The first ODI was played on 5 January 1971 between Australia and England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. As this is the most widely played format of cricket so it give every player a chance to set a number of records. Here we are going to discuss about the 10 highest wicket takers in ODI cricket. This list consists all of the greatest bowlers that cricket history has ever witnessed.

1. Muttiah Muralitharan
Muttiah Muralitharan was only aged 20 when he bowled for the first time for Sri Lankan cricket team. For many people, he is among the greatest to ever spin a ball. Nearly 20 years later, he had taken 800 Test wickets and 534 one-day international wickets and both records stand till this day. His average in One Day Internationals is 23 and the Strike Rate is 35.His career best bowling is 7 wickets for 30 runs.

2. Wasim Akram
Wasim Akram is a former Pakistani cricketer. He was a left arm fast bowler and a left-handed batsman who represented the Pakistan national cricket team in Test and One Day International matches. He played cricket during 1984 to 2003 in which he played 356 One Day International’s while taking 502 wickets with a strike rate of 36. His career best bowling is 5 wickets for 15 runs.

10 Highest Wicket Takers in ODI Cricket

3. Waqar Younis
Waqar Younis is also a former Pakistani right arm fast bowler in cricket and widely regarded as one of the greatest fast bowlers of all time. He is a former bowling coach for Pakistani cricket team and also a regular commentator for cricket matches. His ODI career record includes 416 wickets with a strike rate of 30.5 in 262 matches.

4. Chaminda Vaas
Chaminda Vaas, is a former Sri Lankan cricketer who is regarded as the best fast bowler to come out of the country. In 2012 he was contracted to coach the New Zealand fast bowlers and In 2013 he was appointed as bowling coach for the Sri Lankan side participating in the Champions Trophy competition in England. He played 322 One Day International’s for his team collecting 400 wickets with a strike rate of 39.4.His career best bowling is 8 wickets for 19 runs.

5. Shaun Pollock
Shaun Maclean Pollock is a retired South African cricketer who is the leading wicket taker among South Africans. From 2000 to 2003 he was the captain of the South African cricket team. In his ODI career of 303 matches he took 393 wickets. His average is 24.5 and strike rate is 39.9.

6. Glenn McGrath
Glenn Donald McGrath is a former Australian cricket player and a Cricket Commentator. He was a fast-medium pace bowler and is considered one of the greatest bowlers in cricket history.He was inducted into ICC Hall of fame in January 2013.After playing 250 matches he took 381 wickets with an strike rate of 34. His career best bowling is 7 wickets for 15 runs.

7. Brett Lee
He is also an former Australian cricketer and a Channel Nine cricket commentator. During his international career, Lee was recognized as one of the fastest bowlers in the world of cricket.His bowling figures include 380 wickets in just 221 matches with a very impressive strike rate of just 29.

8. Shahid Afridi
No doubt he is one of the most well known cricketer around the globe in the history of cricket. Shahid Afridi  also known as Boom Boom Afridi is known for his aggressive batting style and holds the record for the fastest  ODI century. He is a right arm leg spinner who has taken 348 wickets after playing 354 ODI’s. His career best bowling figures are 6 wickets for 38 runs.

9. Anil Kumble
Anil Kumble is a former international cricketer and captain of the Indian cricket team. A right-arm leg spin  bowler who he took 619 wickets in Test cricket. He played 271 ODI’s in his career and has 337 wickets on his name with a career best of 6 wickets for just 12 runs.

10. Sanath Jayasuriya
Sanath Jayasuriya is a former Sri Lankan cricketer. He retired from test cricket in December 2007 and from limited overs cricket in June 2011. Jayasuriya was an all-rounder who took 323 wickets in 445 One Day Internationals. Sri Lanka Cricket appointed him as the chairman of cricket selecting committee on 28 January 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *