Netherland beat the England in hockey worldcup 2010

Netherlands beat England with 4-3 goals and secure the 3rd position in hockey world cup 2010 .

3rd-4th – England v Netherlands

World Cup Head-to-heads

> England have taken on Netherland in 4 World Cup matches winning one and losing three.
> Their last World Cup encounter came in 2006 when Netherland a bat England 4-3 in the pool phase.
> England’s sole WC win over the Netherlands came in 1986 (1-0).
> Last year, England beat the Netherlands 2-1 in the semi-finals at the European Championships only to lose 3-2 to the Netherlands at the 2009 Champions Trophy.
> This is the fourth time England and the Netherland meet in a medal match at a major championship.
> At the 2003 and 1974 European Championships these teams met in the bronze medal match. At the 1987 ECh England and the Netherlands met in the final.

England Facts

> European Champions England are in a WC medal match for the second time and for the first time since 1986, when they finished runners-up to Australia.
> In the five WC tournaments after 1986, England had finished 5th, 6th or 7th.
> England have lost their last two WC matches going down to Spain (2-0) and Germany (4-1).
> The last time England suffered three successive defeats in WC matches was in 2006 when they lost pool matches to Korea, Germany and the Netherlands.
> England’s 18 goals at Delhi 2010 came from 12 FG and 6 PC.
> England have converted 6 of 12 penalty corners awarded (50%).
> Ashley Jackson is England’s top goal scorer at Delhi 2010 (5 goals).
> The record for most goals by an England player in a World Cup tournament is 8 by Steve Long in 1978.
> Ashley Jackson and Barry Middleton play at Dutch side HGC. Dutch goal keeper Guus Vogels also plays at HGC.

Netherlands Facts

> The Dutch have been in the WC Final 3-4 twice before losing 4-2 to Australia in 1982 and winning 2-1 against Korea in 2002.
> The bronze medal in 2002 was also the last time the Netherlands won a World Cup medal.
> The Dutch have now reached the Final 3-4 in each of their last six major championships: 2007 CT, 2008 CT, 2008 OG, 2009 ECh, 2009 CT and 2010 WC.
> The Netherlands won a bronze medal in 2 of their last 5 bronze medal matches at major tournaments: 2007 CT and 2009 ECh.
> The Dutch have failed to win their last 3 World Cup matches drawing 2-2 with Germany and losing to Korea (2-1) and Australia (2-1).
> This is their longest World Cup non-winning streak since 1982, when they went 4 WC matches without a win, and lost the bronze medal match against Australia.
> Taekema is only the third player ever to have reached 20 World Cup goals. Taekema needs one more goals to equal Ties Kruize (NED, 21 goals) and 6 goals to equal all-time WC top scorer Paul Litjens (NED, 26 goals).
> Dutch captain Teun de Nooijer (1G-1S-1B) chases a record equaling fourth World Cup medal. The only player so far to have won four World Cup medals is Pakistan’s Akhtar Rasool (3G-1S-0B) (1971-1982).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *