India in fray to host Hockey World Cup 2018

India is in fray to host the Hockey World Cup 2018. India has submitted their bid to the International Hockey Federation (FIH) along with four other countries who want to host the 2018 Hockey World Cup. India has already hosted the men’s Hockey World twice till now in 1981 and 2010 and are now looking for their third opportunity. All willing countries have started their preparations for the Hockey’s 2018 World Cup even before the start of 2014 World Cup which is scheduled to be held in The Hague, Netherlands.

India looking to host 2018 Hockey World Cup

“India in fray to host Hockey World Cup 2018”

According to FIH, they have received total seven bids from five countries who are interested in hosting the mega events of men’s and women’s Hockey World Cup. Four bids have been officially received for hosting the men’s Hockey World Cup while three submissions are for women’s World Cup.

The countries who have placed their bid in front of International Hockey Federation (FIH) include Australia, India, New Zealand, Malaysia and England. Australia, England, Malaysia and India have already hosted this event before while for New Zealand it is the first time.

All five nations have submitted strong cases to FIH for getting the hosting of this much awaited event. The final bids have been submitted and now FIH will evaluated the each bid. After that the the FIH officials will make site visits to each country and further detailed discussions will be done. The International Hockey Federation (FIH) President Leandro Negre said,

“The high interest to host by our Member Associations, especially for the World Cup, is extremely encouraging and we are very happy with the positive reaction to the FIH’s new event assignment process.”

FIH will officially announce the Hockey World Cup 2018 host on 8th November, 2013 along with he venues and match schedules. The event for which each country has placed the bid is:

  1. India (Men)
  2. Malaysia (Men)
  3. England (Women)
  4. Australia (Both Men and Women)
  5. New Zealand (Both Men and Women)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *