Pakistan Hockey Squad for Azlan Shah Hockey Cup 2013

PHF announced 25 name for Pak hockey team squad camp in Lahore and players list for Azlan Shah hockey tournament 2013 next month in Malaysia. Pakistan hockey team squad and all members list details here.As expected four changes were made to the 18-member Pakistan hockey squad announced here on Saturday for the upcoming Azlan Shah Cup scheduled to be held from March 9 to 17 in Ipoh, Malaysia.

The six-nation tournament will be played in Ipoh, Malaysia, from March 9-16. The 18-man Pakistan squad will be led by Mohammad Imran, but senior players Shakil Abassi, Mohammad Waseem, Kashif Shah, Mohammad Kashif and Rizwan Senior will be rested.

Coach Akhtar Rasool said the team is a blend of youth and experience. “We have rested some players in an attempt to try out some youngsters for the future assignments,” said Rasool, who took over as coach for the London Olympics last year.

Pakistan finished a poor seventh in the 2012 Olympics but since then have shown improvement by finishing third in the annual Champions Trophy in Australia and by winning the Asian Champions Trophy in Doha, Qatar both last year.

He further said that all the players had proved their mettle in the last national junior hockey championship due to which they got the nod from the team management.Akhtar said that though they did not expect a place on the podium, the team would definitely give their best to accomplish the best feasible ends in the coursework of the Azlan Shah Cup.They claimed that the boys had done a lovely training in the camp and would play a respectable game to maintain the winning streak.

Pakistan Hockey Squad for Azlan Shah Hockey Cup 2013

Pakistan Hockey Squad for Azlan Shah Hockey Cup 2013

Pakistan hockey team squad for Azlan Shah hockey tournament 2013 in Malaysia players list details here below.

Pak Hockey Team Squad for Azlan Shah Cup:

Goalkeepers: Imran Butt, Imran Shah.

Full-backs: Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Imran (captain), Muhammad Atiq.

Half-backs: Rizwan junior, Farid Ahmed, Amir Shahzad, Mohammad Tauseeq, Tasawar Abbas.

Forwards: Waqas Sharif, Shafqat Rasool, Haseem Khan, Mohammad Imran junior, Ali Shah, Mohammad Suleman, Kashif Ali and Irfan junior.

Seven standbys: Khalid Butt, Kashif Shah, Sabtain Raza, Muzammil Bhatti, Mohammad Suleman, Arslan and Dilbar.

It is also relevant to mention that Pakistan team have recently earned a bronze medal in the Champions Trophy held in Australia and clinched the Asian Champions Trophy staged in Doha.

Every team will play match against each other in the nine-day match with its final to be played on March 17.

Pakistan will play its first match against New Zealand on March 9 before taking on its arch rival Indian team on March 12.

Last year, Pakistani team was shocked in the work of the Azlan Shah Cup where it could win match against Argentinean team followed by defeat in successive matches.

The Australian team won the title on most occasions – six times, while India wrote its name as winner times.

Pakistan could win it thrice while Spain & South Korea clinched the trophy two times.The team & its management came under extreme criticism in Pakistan after the team stood at the last position in the mega event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *