Pakistan Hockey Squad for Azlan Shah Cup 2012

Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) announced a 18 players Pakistan hockey squad for Azlan Shah Hockey Cup 2012 tournament to be played in Malaysia this month. we provide every match latest updates of Pakistan team for Azlan Shah Cup 2012 on asportsnews at this page.

Pakistan hockey squad for Azlan Shah Cup 2012. An 18-member squad was announced for Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament to be played in Malaysia this month. Sohail Abbas was named captain while Waqas Sharif was made hisPakistan Hockey Squad for Azlan Shah Cup 2012 deputy for the tournament.

Sohail Abbas’ long wait is finally over. The seasoned defender, arguably the most popular hockey player of his generation, was finally handed Pakistan team captaincy for back-to-back tours of Malaysia and Europe.

Addressing a press conference here, Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) Chief Selector Hanif Khan and Manager Khawaja Junaid announced the squad.

Six players of the junior team were also selected in the team.

The 21st Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament will get under way in Malaysian city of IPOH on May 26.

Penalty corner specialist and world record holder Sohail Abbas has been handed the captaincy for the first time in his career.

The team will leave for Kualalumpur on May 18 from Lahore.Abbasi was tipped to become Pakistan captain early this year after PHF sacked former skipper Muhammad Imran because of poor form. But Abbasi fell out with PHF chiefs after he accepted a lucrative offer to feature in the unsanctioned WSH in spite of clear warnings by top officials, especially PHF secretary Asif Bajwa.

here on this place we provide Pakistan squad of hockey payers for Azlan Shah Cup 2012 matches.“We didn’t even consider them because PHF is yet to clear those players for national duty,” said Hanif Khan, the chief selector.  “Once their case is decided by the (PHF) disciplinary committee then we will see whether they can be recalled or not,” he added.

The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) on Tuesday included Amir Shahzad as a 19th player in their Sultan Azlan Shah Cup (May 24 to June 3) squad.

Pakistan Hockey Squad: Goalkeepers: Imran Butt and Imran Shah. Defenders: Mohammad Irfan, Kashif Shah, Khalid Bhatti. Midfielders: Sohail Abbas (captain), Fareed Ahmed, Rashid Mehmood, Mohammad Tauseeq, Mohammad Rizwan Junior. Forwards: Waqas Sharif (vice-captain), Shafqat Rasool, Abdul Haseem Khan, Rizwan Senior, Mohammad Zubair, Umer Bhutta, Shabbir Ahmed, Ali Shaan, Amir Shahzad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *