India Hockey Squad For Azlan Shah Cup 2012 Players List

India Hockey federation announced 18-member hockey team squad for Azlan Shah Hockey Cup 2012 tournament. India select their beast players list for Azlan Shah cup to beat season and take trophy. we provide India hockey team squad for Azlan Shah tournament 2012 players list details on asportsnews at this page.

India on Thursday named an 18-member hockey team with goalkeeper Bharat Chetri as captain to take part in the 21st Sultan Azlan Shah Cup tournament to be held at Ipoh, Malaysia from May 24 to June 3.

In a major shift in plans, Hockey India has decided to send its first team for the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup tournament, to be held in Ipoh from May 24 to June 3.

The federation, which had maintained until recently that a development team would figure in the seven-nation tournament, apparently changed its mind after realizing that the matches would be played on blue turf similar to the one being used at the London Olympics.

Midfielder Sardar Singh will be the vice-captain of the Indian team in the seven-nation tournament, which will also feature Argentina, Great Britain, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand and Pakistan.

Apart from hosts Malaysia, all other teams will be playing at the London Olympics in July.India Hockey Squad For Azlan Shah Cup 2012 Players List

Hockey India selectors B P Govinda and Col Balbir Singh, alongwith government observer Harbinder Singh, witnessed the trials on April 8-9 before finalising the squad.

The selectors made only two changes in the 18-member squad that will take part in the Four Nation Olympic Test Event to be held in London from May 2 to 6.

Rupinderpal Singh comes in place of Ignace Tirkey in defence, while Dharamvir Singh replaces Chinglensana Singh upfront.

Four players — PT Rao (Goalkeeper), Harbir Singh (Defender), Pardeep Mor (Midfielder) and Pradhan Somanna (Forward) — have been named as standbys.

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup tournament this year will be played on blue artificial pitch with yellow balls on round robin league format, culminating in the final on June 3.

India will open their campaign against New Zealand on May 24 to be followed with matches against Korea (May 25), Great Britain (May 27), Malaysia (May 28), Argentina (May 30) and Pakistan (May 31).

India has won the title on five earlier occasions, in 1985, 1991, 1995, 2009 and 2010.

India Hockey Team:
Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri (captain), Sreejesh PR. Defenders: Sandeep Singh, VR Raghunath, Rupinder Pal Singh.
Midfielders: Birendra Lakra, Sardar Singh (vice-captain), Manpreet Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Kothajit Singh.
Forwards: SV Sunil, Dharamvir Singh, Sarvanjit Singh, Gurwinder Singh Chandi, Shivendra Singh, Danish Mujtaba, SK Uthappa, Tushar Khandker
Standbys: PT Rao, Harbir Singh, Pardeep Mor, Pradhan Somanna.

Sports News Found By:

  • indian hockey players
  • hockey indian player name and with picture

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *