India Women Hockey Team Squad for Asia Cup 2013

India women hockey team squad for Asia Cup 2013 has been announced. The indian hockey team selectors B P Govinda, Surinder Kaur, Mamta Kharab, Chief Coach Neil Hawgood, Coach I S Gill and Scientific Advisor Matthew Tredrea have declared the name of players that will take part in the women hockey Asia Cup 2013.

According to the official announcement by the selection committee total 18 players have been selected to be the part of the team that will participate in the event along with 6 standbys. The selection was were organized at NSNIS Patiala on 30 and 31 August,2013. The midfielder Ritu Rani will lead the team in the event while Chanchan Devi Thokchom will act as the Vice-captain.

India Women Hockey Team Squad for Asia Cup 2013

“India Women Hockey Team Squad for Asia Cup 2013”

The women hockey Asia Cup 2013 is scheduled to begin from 21st September 213 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The will be the 8th edition of the tournament and India has won this tournament only once till now. Korea women hockey team has been the most successful team in Asia Cup with 3 title wins and 1 time runner-up.

Indian hockey team has been placed in Pool A along with China, Hong Kong China and the events host team Malaysia. In last edition of the tournament China had defeated India by 5-3 in the final to claim their second Asia Cup title. The Pool B consists of Korea, Japan, Kazakhstan and Chinese Taipei. Indian team will begin their Asia Cup 2013 journey on 21st September with a match against Hong Kong China.

The 8th Women’s Asia Cup is the continental qualification tournament for the FIH Women’s World Cup 2014 to be played in The Hague, The Netherlands from 31 May-14 June 2014.

India Women Hockey Team Squad for Asia Cup 2013:

Goalkeepers: Rajani Etimarpu, Savita

Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka, Joydeep Kaur, Kirandeep Kaur, Sunita Lakra, Deepika, Namita Toppo, P Sushila Chanu, M N Ponnamma

Midfielders: Ritu Rani (Captain), Chanchan Devi Thokchom (Vice-Captain), Soundarya Yendala, Lily Chanu

Forwards: Poonam Rani, Rani, Vandana Katariya, Anuradha Devi Thokchom

Standbys: Sanarik Chanu, Asunta Lakra, Monika Malik, Navjot Kaur, Lilima Minz, Anupa Barla

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *