Tiger Woods in race for Player of Year award

One of the best golfers of all time, Tiger Woods is now in the race for Player of the Year award. The Professional Golfers Association (PGA) has nominated five golfers for the PGA Tour Player of the Year 2013 award. These players include:

  1. Tiger Woods
  2. Phil Mickelson
  3. Adam Scott
  4. Match Kuchar
  5. Henrik Stenson

tiger Woods aiming for Player of Year award

“Tiger Woods in race for Player of Year award”

Match Kuchar and Henrik Stenson may have secured a few victories but they are no where near to the other three players. Scott and Mickelson can be considered as a minor competition to Tiger Woods for the Player of the Year award. Phil Mickelson has two wins including a Open Championship while Adam Scott also has two wins which includes the Masters, but still they don’t have any major chances of beating Tiger Woods in this race.

Tiger Woods has won five PGA tour events this season which includes one players championship and two Golf World Championships. Woods has also finished at second place in the recent FedEx Cup behind Swede Stenson and a Arnold Palmer Award. So Tiger Woods will definitely will the Player of the Year award.

For Rookie of the Years Award, Jordan Speith seems to be a clear winner. Speith has finished nine time in top ten this season. Other layers who have been nominated for this award include  Derek Ernst, Russell Henley and David Lingmerth.

The winners of these awards are decided through the members vote. Only the PGA members who have participated in minimum 12 official events in 2013 will cast their vote. The final winner of the award will be officially announced on 27th September 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *