BWAA 2012 fighter of the year award goes to Donaire

With 31 wins, twenty knockouts, one lose tally, DONAIRE emerges BWAA unanimous choice over Mexican Juan Manuel Marquez, Robert Guerrero, Danny Garcia & Brian Viloria for the coveted Sugar Ray Robinson Award.The Filipino Flash Donaire Jr. the world tremendous bantamweight king bagged the 2012 Boxing of the Year award. It Donaire first award which is the most prestigious award of all time from the Boxing Writers Association of The united states (BWAA).Messages of congratulations flooded brimful Donaire twitter account right after BWAA made the announcement on Monday.

30-year elderly Donaire, who with spouse Rachel is expecting their first kid by June, got BWAA nod for last year sterling record after winning four matches, including his merciless beating of Mexico Jorge Arce in the 2nd & 3rd rounds in December 2012.2011 BWAA awardee was Andre Ward. Pacquiao won same award thrice, in 2006, 2008 & 2009.Venue for Donaire awarding rites will be in New York City.

BWAA 2012 fighter of the year award goes to Donaire

BWAA 2012 fighter of the year award goes to Donaire

Donaire captured the vacant WBO title from Puerto Rican Wilfredo Vasquez Jr by a 12-round split decision, annexing the International Boxing Federation (IBF) tremendous bantamweight crown after scoring a unanimous decision over Jeffrey Mathebula of South Africa in July 2012 before defending the WBO crown against Toshiaki Nishioka of Japan by a 9th round technical knockout in October 2012.

Donaire likewise was honoured by the Ring Journal, Sports Illustrated & Yahoo Sports as Fighter of the Year winner, besides the BWAA award.Donaire is expected to fight come April 27 versus Guillermo Rigondeaux, Donaire trainer Robert Garcia was named Eddie Futch Trainer of the Year award for developing also world title holders Mikey Garcia & Brandon Rios.

Donaire joins a prestigious roll of BWAA great fighters & Hall of Famers like Muhammad Ali, Robinson, Jack Dempsey, Joe Louis, Henry Armstrong, Joe Frazier, George Foreman, Larry Holmes, Sugar Ray Leonard, Marvin Hagler, Tommy Hearns, Mike Tyson & Floyd Mayweather Jr. among others.

The fourth battle between Pacquiao & Marquez was chosen the BWAA Joe Frazier Fight of the Year award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *