Pakistan set 129 runs Target for India to chase – Pakistan vs India

Pakistan set 129 runs Target for India to chase – Pakistan vs India t20 match super eight round T20 world cup 2012 on Sep 30.In a frenetic first half of a match charged with pressure to live up to the occasion, India and Pakistan went this way and that, trying to outthink and outmanoeuvre the other, but India, more solid on the day, eventually got the better of Pakistan, enthusiastic and anxious in same measure.

Pakistan began with 26 runs and five boundaries in the first two overs, but ended up imploding in the coming overs, taking 6.5 overs to score the next 26, and in the end posting the lowest total of the Super Eights. Some of their batsmen almost froze in the early middle overs, and 59 dots plus two unused balls resulted.Pakistan set 129 runs Target for India to chase - Pakistan vs India

Pakistan captain Mohammad Hafeez won the toss and elected to bat against their arch rivals India in the World Twenty20 Super Eights group two here at the R Premadasa Stadium on Sunday.Pakistan made no change in their team which defeated South Africa by two wickets in Colombo on Friday while India on the other side made two changes.

Dashing opener Virender Sehwag was back for India.He was surprisingly left out of the Indian team which lost to Australia by nine wickets in the first Super Eights match on Friday.Sehwag and fast bowler Lakshmipathy Balaji were brought in for Harbhajan Singh and Piyush Chawla.If Pakistan win this match they will qualify for the semi-finals along with Australia from the group. In case of an Indian victory, all four teams will go into the last matches on Tuesday with a chance to reach the last four.

Australia moved closer to the semi-finals after recording their second win in as many matches by thumping South Africa by eight wickets earlier in the day.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Rohit Sharma, Lakshmipathy Balaji.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Imran Nazir, Nasir Jamshed, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hasan, Yasir Arafat.

Umpires: Rod Tucker (AUS) and Richard Kettleborough (ENG), Tv umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SL)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZ)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *