WI A beat India A to Win One-Day Series

West Indies (WI) A has beaten the India A to win the three unofficial One Day International (ODI) matches series by 2-1. The first match of the series was won by India A by 77 runs but the West Indies A team made its comeback in the series by winnings the second ODI by 55 runs. The ODI series decider match was played on 19th September 2013 between the two teams and West Indies (WI) A won the match after a solid performance with both bat and ball.

WI A defeated India A to win the ODI SeriesWI A defeated India A to win the ODI Series

“WI A beat India A to Win One-Day Series”

The match was played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium and even after being a working day a huge amount of crowd came-out to the stadium to watch the game. The crowd wanted their home team to win but India A that had whitewashed the New Zealand A team by 3-0 earlier this season, was just not able to stop the Caribbeans. The India A captain Yuvraj Singh had won the toss and elected to field first which ultimately proved to be a bad decision. The India A bowlers showed a very disappointing performance. WI A batsmans kept smashing the balls for boundaries but their was nothing that the bowlers could do about it.

Ultimately, West Indies (WI) A scored a huge 312 runs total for nine wickets after the completion of their innings. Kirk Edward played a superb innings of 104 runs off equal balls, while Leon Jhonson, the captain Kieran Powell and Jonathan Carter also made an important contribution to their teams total with 54, 40 and 35 runs respectively. From the India A bowlers, Jaydev Unadkat took 5 wickets for 55 runs from his 10 overs.

While chasing this huge total of 312 runs, the India A team could only managed to score 267 runs off 50 overs after losing 8 wickets. The India A batting line-up collapsed once again and they kept losing wicket throughout the innings. The 19 year old opening batsman, Baba Aparajith played a solid innings of 78 runs along with the India A captain Yuvraj Singh’s 61 runs innings. Both players built a 3rd wicket partnership of 112 runs which kept their hopes of winning the match alive but finally these hopes vanished after Yuvraj’s dismissal on 158 runs. Soon after that the set batsman Baba Aparajith was bowled by Permaul and the match completely went into the hands of West Indies (WI) A.

Viney Kumar played a unbeaten 37 runs innings in the later part of the game but that was just not enough to take his team to the victory. The left arm spinner from WI A, Veersammy Permaul took two wicket for 55 runs while Miguel Cummins managed to take 2 wickets. WI A and India A are now scheduled to face each other in a T20 match on 21st September 2013. The India A team all-rounder Mandeep Singh got injured during the last ODI and likely to miss the T20 match too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *