Tendulkar is the ICC cricketer of the year

Tendulkar is the ICC cricketer of the year

Sachin Tendulkar bagged an ICC award for the first time after he was named the cricketer of the year during the ICC annual awards held in Bangalore on October 6.

Tendulkar is the ICC cricketer of the year

Tendulkar is the ICC cricketer of the year

Sachin Tendulkar overcame stiff competition from other contenders such as Amla, Sehwag and Swann to bag the top prize. Tendulkar also won the LG people’s choice award.

Tendulkar follows in the footsteps of India’s Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff of England and South Africa’s Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting of Australia (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008) and Mitchell Johnson (2009) to take the top award.

India bagged another top award when Virender Sehwag was named the Test cricketer of the year. During the 12-month voting period, Sehwag put in some remarkable performances with the bat, making 1,282 runs with an impressive average of 85.46 in the 10 Test matches he played. He scored six centuries and four half-centuries during the period.

Meanwhile, South Africa’s AB de Villiers was recognized for his consistent performances in the limited overs version, winning the ODI player of the year award.

During the voting period, de Villiers played 16 ODIs and scored 855 runs at an average of 71.25 and at a rate of 103.38 runs per 100 balls faced. In that time he hit four 50s and four centuries making sure he led his team from the front when it came to batting.

He is currently ranked number one in the Reliance Mobile ICC Player Rankings for ODI batsmen, comfortably ahead of the next best.

England fast bowler Steven Finn has won the ICC Emerging Player of the Year award. The 21-year-old, who played in six Test matches in the voting period and took 27 wickets at an average of 21.85, has made an immediate impact within the England side with his extra pace and bounce since making his Test debut in March of this year.

Finn’s best bowling figures in an innings during the voting period came against Bangladesh when he took 5-42 in 10 overs in the second Test at Old Trafford. He had earlier taken another five-for, also against Bangladesh, but this time at Lord’s when he snapped up 5-87.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named the captain of the Test team of the year while Ponting was named the skipper of the ODI team of the year.

Brendon McCullum, who came up with a scintillating performance by scoring an unbeaten 116 against Australia in a T20 International, won the prize for the Best T20 Performance of the year.

The ICC and the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA) tonight inducted Courtney Walsh, Joel Garner, Rachael Heyhoe Flint and Bishan Bedi into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

List of awardees:

Cricketer of the Year: Sachin Tendulkar

(Other Contenders: Hashim Amla (SA), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Graeme Swann (Eng))

Test player of the year: Virender Sehwag

(Other Contenders: Hashim Amla (SA), Dale Steyn (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind))

Test team of the year: India

The ICC World Test Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Virender Sehwag (Ind)

Simon Katich (Aus)

Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper)

Graeme Swann (Eng)

James Anderson (Eng)

Dale Steyn (SA)

Doug Bollinger (Aus)

ODI player of the year: AB de Villiers

(Other Contenders: Ryan Harris (Aus), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Shane Watson (Aus))

ODI team of the year: Australia

ICC World ODI Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

Shane Watson (Aus)

Michael Hussey (Aus)

AB de Villiers (SA)

Paul Collingwood (Eng)

Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain)

MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper)

Daniel Vettori (NZ)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Doug Bollinger (Aus)

Ryan Harris (Aus)

ICC Emerging player of the year: Steven Finn

(Other Contenders: Umar Akmal (Pak), Angelo Mathews (SL) and Tim Paine (Aus))

Best T20 performance of the year: Brendon McCullum

(Other Contenders: Michael Hussey (Aus), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Ryan Mclaren (SA))

Spirit of Cricket award: New Zealand

(Other Contenders: India, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe)

ICC Associate player of the year: Ryan ten Doeschate

(Other Contenders: Trent Johnston (Ire), Kevin O’Brien (Ire), Mohammed Shahzad (Afg))

Umpire of the year: Aleem Dar from Pakistan

(Other Contenders: Steve Davis (Aus), Tony Hill (NZ), Simon Taufel (Aus))

Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Shelley Nitschke (Aus)

(Other Contenders: Katherine Brunt (Eng), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Stafanie Taylor (WI))

LG people’s choice award: Sachin Tendulkar

(Other Contenders: Michael Hussey (Aus), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Andrew Strauss (Eng), AB de Villiers (SA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *