T20 Champions League 2011 Schedule

T20 Champions League 2011 Schedule | Champions league  CLT20 2011 Schedule

T20 Champions League 2011 Schedule: The format and match schedule for the 2011 Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) tournament and qualifying event was announced on Thursday, with a record 13 teams from around the world a chance to claim the most prestigious prize in domestic cricket. The tournament returns to India this year with matches in Chennai, Bengaluru and Kolkata, as well as a qualifying event in Hyderabad. The main tournament will run from 23 September-9 October with the Qualifier immediately beforehand from 19-21 September.

With seven teams already qualified (see below), a six-team qualifying event will be held for the first time to determine the final three participants. The six teams will be divided into two pools and the top team from each pool qualifies for the group stage, with the third team to be the next highest ranked team based on points and then net run rate. The group stage of the tournament follows the same successful format as 2010. The 10 teams have been divided into two groups for a round robin phase before the top two teams from each group progress to the Semi Finals.

The Qualifier will be held in Hyderabad at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, while Kolkata’s iconic Eden Gardens, and Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium and Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium will host group stage matches. Bengaluru and Chennai have been awarded a Semi Final on Friday 7 October and Saturday 8 October respectively, with Chennai also selected to host the 2011 CLT20 Final on Sunday 9 October.

Chennai Super Kings, the defending CLT20 Champions, have been drawn in Group A along with Cape Cobras (South Africa’s Pro20 Series Champions), 2009 CLT20 Champions NSW Blues and Mumbai Indians. The fifth team from the group will be the team that finishes top of Pool B in the Qualifier. Group B contains Royal Challengers Bangalore (2010 IPL Runner-Up), Warriors (2010 CLT20 Runner-up) and South Australian Redbacks (Australia’s Twenty20 Big Bash Champions). The remaining two places will come from the Qualifier (the top of Pool A and the next highest qualifier).

The tournament starts in Bengaluru on Friday 23 September with a Group B clash between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Warriors at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, the second time that the venue has hosted the CLT20 opener. Royal Challengers Bangalore is the only team to have qualified for the past three tournaments while their opponent was the surprise of last year’s event, using its home ground advantage in Port Elizabeth to great effect in the group stage on their way to the Final.

Group A action gets under way the following day with a double header in Chennai with Cape Cobras and NSW Blues in the early match followed by an IPL battle between MS Dhoni’s all-conquering Super Kings and Sachin Tendulkar’s Mumbai Indians. Teams that emerge from the Qualifier won’t start their group stage matches until 25 September, giving them time to regroup and prepare for their campaign.

The seven teams already qualified have consistently shown over the past three years that they are the world’s elite. Among them are former CLT20 Champions and Finalists, as well as teams that have proved their pedigree at home and on the CLT20 stage. The addition of the qualifier adds another dimension to this year’s tournament. While half the teams will go home disappointed before the group stage, the three that qualify will be match-hardened and a legitimate contender after surviving CLT20’s unique pressure.

The Format of CLT20 2011:

· 6 Teams divided into 2 Pools of 3. Three Teams to advance to Group Stage
· Top team from each Pool after round robin matches qualifies for Group Stage
· Next highest ranked Team in terms of points, then run rate, also qualifies

Group Stage
10 Teams divided into 2 Groups of 5
Top 2 Teams from each Group advance to the semifinals
23 Matches in total (same as 2009 and 2010)
Group A – Chennai Super Kings, Cape Cobras, NSW Blues, Mumbai Indians, 1st Pool B Qualifier
Group B – Royal Challengers Bangalore, Warriors, South Australian Redbacks, 1st Pool A Qualifier, Next Highest Ranked Qualifier
7 Double Headers
Semifinals in Bangalore and Chennai
Final in Chennai

Competing Teams
· Kolkata Knight Riders (India)
· Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies)
· Auckland Aces (New Zealand)
· Sri Lanka (tbc)
· England 1 (tbc)
· England 2 (tbc)

Group Stage
· South Australian Redbacks (Australia)
· NSW Blues (Australia)
· Warriors (South Africa)
· Cape Cobras (South Africa)

· Chennai Super Kings (India)
· Royal Challengers Bangalore (India)
· Mumbai Indians (India)
· 3 x Qualifier (Teams tbc)

Previous Champions
2009 – NSW Blues
2010 – Chennai Super Kings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *