PCB announce central contracts for players

The fast bowler, who was also not among the centrally-contracted players last year, was among the three players included in Pakistan’s current squads to have not received a contract. Increased pays, match fees as PCB hands out contracts Uncapped fast bowler Rahat Ali and recalled all-rounder Yasir Arafat are the other two.

Eight players were named in the ‘A’ category of the contracts, with Umar Akmal being promoted from his previous ‘B’ category. Shahid Afridi also finds himself in the top category after moving on from his spat with the board management the previous year. Players in category ‘A’ will receive a retainer of 312,500 rupees per month – a 25 per cent increase from last year’s contract payments (Rs.250,000). In addition, they will receive a match fee of Rs.385,000 for Tests, Rs.320,000 for one-day internationals and Rs.275,000 for each Twenty20 match that they play in the year.

Former captain Shoaib Malik and young middle-order batters Asad Shafiq and Azhar Ali were among the six players given the ‘B’-category contracts. Others include fast bowlers Junaid Khan and Aizaz Cheema, and recalled Test opener Taufeeq Umar. The monthly retainer for category ‘B’ has been increased to Rs.218,750 from the previous Rs.175,000. Their match fees will be Rs.330,000, Rs.275,000 and Rs.220,000 for Test matches, ODIs and T20s respectively.PCB announce central contracts for players

Wicket-keepers Adnan Akmal and Sarfraz Ahmed caught hold of Category ‘C’ contracts, along with batsmen Nasir Jamshed, Faisal Iqbal, Imran Farhat; all-rounder Hammad Azam and left-arm pacer Wahab Riaz. Players in this category will receive a monthly retainer of Rs.125,000, up from last year’s Rs.100,000. Category ‘C’ players will fetch Rs.275,000 for each Test match they play, Rs.220,000 for each ODI and Rs.165,000 for Twenty20 matches.

Out-of-favour Test players Kamran Akmal and Abdul Razzaq were among notable absentees, as well as Tanvir Ahmed, who has been named among the reserve players for the tour of Sri Lanka and was among the centrally-contracted players last year.

In the ‘stipend’ category, 21 players will receive a month retainer of Rs.62,500 and include some of the top performers of the last domestic season.

Experienced duo Kamran Akmal and Abdul Razzaq missed out on central contracts on Saturday when the Pakistan Cricket Board announced a list of 21 players who will receive pay increases.

Players will get a 25 per cent increase in their monthly contract retainers and another 10 percent hike in their match fees.

“After three years we have increased the fees payable to the players which we hope will be a morale boost for them,” PCB Chairman Zaka Ashraf said in a statement.

“We have also given recognition to those players who have distinguished themselves with consistent performances in the domestic circuit. We have also recognised Under-19 players in the list and this will serve as a huge encouragement for them.”

All-rounders Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik were given contracts but fast bowler Mohammad Sami was another surprise exclusion.

Sami was recently recalled to the national team for the tour of Sri Lanka and was picked for all three formats of the game.

Contracted players:
Category ‘A’ [Monthly: Rs.312,500, Tests: Rs.385,000, ODIs: Rs.325,000, T20s: Rs.275,000]

Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman and Umar Akmal
Category ‘B’ [Monthly: Rs.218,750, Tests: Rs.330,000 ODIs: Rs.275,000, T20s: Rs.220,000]
Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Taufeeq Umar, Junaid Khan and Aizaz Cheema
Category ‘C’ [Monthly: Rs. 125,000, Tests: Rs.275,000, ODIs: Rs.220,000, T20s: Rs.165,000]
Adnan Akmal, Hammad Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Faisal Iqbal, Nasir Jamshed, Wahab Riaz and Imran Farhat
Stipend [Monthly: Rs.62,500]
Shahzeb Hasan, Ahmed Shahzad, Awais Zia, Khalid Latif, Sohail Tanveer, Raza Hasan, Shakeel Ansar, Haris Sohail, Sharjeel Khan, Usman Salahuddin, Ayub Dogar, Mohammad Khalil, Afaq Rahim, Usman Qadir, Ziaul Haq, Anwar Ali, Babar Azam, Bismillah Khan, Bilawal Bhatti, Imran Khan and Sami Aslam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *