New Zealand sent in, Shanan Stewart debuts

Ricky Ponting has won his fourth consecutive toss and has again sent New Zealand in, after the tactic worked for Tuesday’s game in Hamilton.

Australia can secure the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy with victory at Eden Park and they have made no alterations to their winning side.

Things are not as stable for New Zealand, who have made three personnel changes with the batsman Shanan Stewart set to debut. James Franklin and Daryl Tuffey have also returned from hamstring and calf complaints respectively, while Michael Mason, Neil Broom and Peter Ingram have been dropped.

That means a reshuffle in the batting order with Martin Guptill listed to open and Stewart expected to come in at No. 4. Significantly, Daniel Vettori has volunteered for more batting responsibility and is named at No. 6, ahead of Franklin, who started the series as their No. 4 or 5.

New Zealand 1 Brendon McCullum, 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Ross Taylor, 4 Shanan Stewart, 5 Scott Styris, 6 Daniel Vettori (capt), 7 Gareth Hopkins (wk), 8 James Franklin, 9 Daryl Tuffey, 10 Shane Bond, 11 Tim Southee.

Australia 1 Shane Watson, 2 Brad Haddin (wk), 3 Ricky Ponting (capt), 4 Michael Hussey, 5 Cameron White, 6 Adam Voges, 7 James Hopes, 8 Mitchell Johnson, 9 Nathan Hauritz, 10 Ryan Harris, 11 Doug Bollinger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *