Kallis lead Bangalore to victory

Jacques Kallis smashed an unbeaten half-century as Bangalore eased to a seven-wicket victory over Mumbai to move to the top of the IPL.

Fast bowler Dale Steyn and medium-pacer Vinay Kumar claimed three wickets apiece as Bangalore turned in another ruthlessly efficient performance in the field to restrict Mumbai to a below-par 151 for nine.

Kallis then smashed an unbeaten 66 and opening partner Manish Pandey made 40 as Bangalore secured victory with five deliveries to spare.

Batting first, Mumbai lost Sanath Jayasuriya (two) early, trapped in front by Steyn, but Sachin Tendulkar responded with three consecutive boundaries in the bowler’s next over and continued to score fairly easily, without taking undue risk.

Bangalore pulled things back with the wicket of Aditya Tare, but his replacement, Saurabh Tiwary (25) was briskly into his stride and the Indians looked set for a massive total.

Anil Kumble introduced himself into the attack in the eighth over and the leg-spinner put the brakes on Mumbai’s free-scoring ways by bowling Tiwary through the gate.

Click here for Scorecard

The real damage, however, was done by Vinay in the 11th over, the medium-pacer making a terrific comeback after copping a bit of stick in his first two overs.

In his third over, Vinay had the dangerous Ambati Rayudu caught behind for three, bowled Tendulkar for 25 and trapped Dwayne Bravo in front for one as Mumbai crashed from 71 for two to 76 for six.

Kieron Pollard (21) and Rajagopal Sathish (24) were left to repair the damage and the seventh-wicket duo nursed the innings back to life, putting on 47 together before Steyn caused another wobble by removing both batsmen in one over.

Mumbai only went past the 150 mark due to a nine-ball 23 from Zaheer Khan, 16 of which came off the final over sent down by Praveen Kumar.

Mumbai needed early wickets in stay in the contest and they should have had Kallis in the second over, but Rayudu fluffed the chance and Bangalore raced away to another strong start.

Pandey launched his innings by hammering Zaheer for two boundaries in the third over and Kallis joined in at the other end, bludgeoning Lasith Malinga for three boundaries in the fourth.

By the time Harbhajan Singh produced the first breakthrough by removing Pandey for 40, Bangalore needed only 67 from the remaining 10.1 overs.

Robin Uthappa narrowed the equation with a breezy 23 and Virat Kohli was run out for 17, but Kallis played out a steady hand to see Bangalore over the line. England batsman Eoin Morgan was unbeaten on seven off six balls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *