England T20 and ODI squads Against Sri Lanka, Collingwood axed from Squad

England T20 and ODI squads Against Sri Lanka, Collingwood axed from Squad

Paul Collingwood was dropped from both the England Twenty20 and one-day squads announced Tuesday for the upcoming fixtures against Sri Lanka. here is all England T20 and ODI squads named.

England T20 and ODI squads Against Sri Lanka, Collingwood axed from Squad . The veteran all-rounder retired from Test duty after England’s victorious Ashes campaign in Australia but was included in the World Cup squad.

However, upon his return home after England’s 10-wicket quarter-final thrashing by Sri Lanka, Collingwood was stripped of the Twenty20 captaincy — despite leading the side to the World Twenty20 title in the West Indies last year — and replaced as skipper by leadership novice Stuart Broad.

The 35-year-old Collingwood, a former England one-day captain, only recently returned to county action with Durham following a knee injury and England national selector Geoff Miller said: “Paul Collingwood has been an inspirational limited-overs cricketer for England over many years, and we still see a role for him in this capacity based on form and fitness.

Meanwhile wicketkeeper Craig Kieswetter and all-rounder Samit Patel won recalls to both squads.

Kiewswetter replaced Matt Prior, England’s Test gloveman who played at the World Cup.

Patel’s ability as a second spinner will enable England to field another slow bowler in addition to his county colleague Graeme Swann.

Fast-medium bowler Broad is expected to be fit to lead England for the first time at Bristol on Saturday despite bruising a heel during the drawn third Test against Sri Lanka at the Rose Bowl on Monday, a result that gave England the series 1-0.

England Test captain Andrew Strauss has retired from limited overs internationals so the one-day side will be led by Alastair Cook, even though his Test opening partner was not selected in the World Cup squad.

Meanwhile fast bowler Chris Tremlett, England’s man of the Sri Lanka Test series, appears to have been rested ahead of the four Tests against India starting next month.

Twenty20 squad
Stuart Broad (captain), Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter (wk), Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Graeme Swann, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright

One-day squad
Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Bell, Bopara, Broad, Dernbach, Finn, Kieswetter, Morgan, Patel, Pietersen, Swann, Jonathan Trott, Woakes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *