Eagles soar to convincing win

The Diamond Eagles stormed to a five wicket victory against the Somerset Sabres in the second Super Eights clash in Hyderabad.

A double strike by Willoughby earlier in the innings got rid of Rossouw and McLaren.

Skipper Boeta Dippenar perished to Waller as the Somerset Sabres tried to claw their way back in.

The Diamond Eagles have restricted Somerset Sabres to an achievable total under lights at Hyderabad. However, don’t count out the Sabres to fight here.

de Villiers first got rid of Craig Kieswetter as the umpire had no doubt in ruling an lbw.

Arul Suppiah was the next one to follow a couple of deliveries later.

Zander de Bruyn was his third victim, as Adrian McLaren took an easy catch.

Thandi Tshabalala then claimed the big one in Somerset skipper Justin Langer, knocking off the middle stump.

Alan Kruger accounted for Peter Trego by taking the catch off his own bowling.

Wes Durston struck a brilliant fifty to lead a Somerset revival against Diamond Eagles in the Super Eights clash in Hyderabad.

Cornelius de Villier has snapped up four wickets. However, a solid 57 by Wes Durston helped Somerset recover from the early blows.

Somerset pulled off a sensational one-run win over Indian Premier League champions Deccan Chargers but lost to Caribbean side Trinidad and Tobago.

Somerset are lucky to be in the Super Eight as they would have been shown the door had Deccan not lost by three runs against Trinidad last night as Adam Gilchrist’s men enjoyed a better net run rate.

The South African side, Eagles, on the other hand, were outplayed by New South Wales in their opening match before bouncing back to beat Sussex Sharks in a must-win match to take the last available berth in the super-eight stage from their group.


Diamond Eagles: RR Rossouw, AP McLaren, MN van Wyk†, HH Dippenaar*, RT Bailey, R McLaren, J Coetzee, AK Kruger, CJD de Villiers, T Tshabalala, SC van Schalkwyk.

Somerset: JL Langer*, C Kieswetter†, AV Suppiah, Z de Bruyn, JC Hildreth, PD Trego, WJ Durston, BJ Phillips, AC Thomas, MTC Waller, CM Willoughby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *