England’s squad to the Ashes 2013-14 in Australia

England national cricket team’s squad for the Ashes 2013-14 in Australia has been announced. The England team will tour Australia to defend their Ashes title. The 5 Test matches series will begin from 21st November 2013. This is the first time that Ashes is being held after only 3 months of the end of Ashes in England. The reason behind this change in schedule is that Ashes series in Australia was being held just before the ICC Cricket World Cup since 1999.

England squad announced for Ashes 2013-14 in Australia asportsnews

“England’s squad to the Ashes 2013-14 in Australia”

The England team has announced 17 members squad for Ashes 2013-14 in Australia. A few changes have been made in the England squad from the last Ashes series. The for Ireland cricketer Boyd Rankin will make his Test debut for England in this Ashes while Gary Ballance and Michael Carberry have also been included in the team. The spinner Monty Panesar and fast bowler Chris Tremlett will also make their comeback in the England’s national Test team.

The inclusion of these new players has also made some players to be dropped from the side. Graham Onions, Nick Compton and Tim Bresnan will miss the Ashes 2013-14 in Australia while the rest of the team will remain the same. Alastair Cook will again lead his side to defend the Ashes title against Australia.

England had won the last Ashes series on their home ground by 3-1. England has been on a continuous peak performance in Test matches after winning the series in India and New Zealand and also beating Australia in Ashes series so it will not be an easy task for the Australians to beat England for the trophy. The series will begin on 21st November 2013 and will continue till 7th January 2014.The venues selected for the series include  The Gabba, the Adelaide Oval, the WACA Ground, the Melbourne Cricket Ground and the Sydney Cricket Ground.

England Team Squad for the Ashes 2013-14 in Australia:

Alastair Cook (capt), Matt Prior (vice-captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Michael Carberry, Steven Finn, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett, Jonathan Trott.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *